ECHO meets Aged Care Standards quality audit

On August 3 and 4 this year, ECHO was audited by the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission against the seven Aged Care Standards which apply to in-home aged care providers and was found to meet all the Standards and all their applicable component parts.

The seven applicable Standards are:

  • Standard 1 – Consumer dignity and choice;
  • Standard 2 – Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers;
  • Standard 3 – Personal care and clinical care;
  • Standard 4 – Services and supports for daily living;
  • Standard 6 – Feedback and complaints;
  • Standard 7 – Human resources; and
  • Standard 8 – Organisational governance.

Standard 5 – Organisation’s service environment – applies to residential aged care and not ECHO’s in-home care.

ECHO’s performance was evaluated in terms of its preparation for and delivery of services under both the Home Care Packages (HCP) program and the Commonwealth Home Support Program (CHSP).

The auditors interviewed a total of 38 people in their work, 17 of whom were either consumers or the representatives of consumers of ECHO services.  Support workers, clinical staff, quality staff, administration staff and the Chair of ECHO’s Board were included and provided information.

Significant work has been undertaken at ECHO, particularly in the past 12 months, to build upon and improve ECHO’s policies and procedures and thereby assist us to improve the level of care provided to those who choose ECHO to deliver their in-home aged care services.

ECHO sees this achievement as one step along our continuous improvement process as we strive to deliver care in many different ways to those who choose us to care for them in their homes.

← Read more articles